Harrington Elected ‘Mayor of Charlestown’

Passing the torch: Pictured is 17th Mayor of Charlestown, Shannon Lundin (left) with the newly appointed 2014 18th Mayor of Charlestown, Kelliegh Harrington.

Passing the torch: Pictured is 17th Mayor of Charlestown, Shannon Lundin (left) with the newly appointed 2014 18th Mayor of Charlestown, Kelliegh Harrington.

The Townie Association had a very busy Bunker Hill Day weekend. On Friday, June 13th, Charlestown elected the 2014 Mayor of Charlestown, Kelliegh Harrington and said thank you to 17th Mayor of Charlestown, Shannon Lundin at the annual Night Before Banquet. The race lasted two months as each candidate sold votes in their name. Kelliegh, with 3,790 votes won the race by almost 1,000 votes. Mike Sullivan had 2,897 votes, Teri Muscarella sold 2,645 votes, Dave DelMedico sold 1,250 votes, and Sunshine Smith with 10 votes. Because of the Mayor of Charlestown race, the Townie Association was able to raise over $10,000. Kelliegh will represent Charlestown this year and will travel across the pond to the old country, Ireland.

On Saturday, June 14th, the Townie Association successfully decorated the entire Parade Route as part of the annual Paint the Town: Red, White, & Blue. The week before, volunteers hand delivered letters to homes and businesses along the Parade Route asking owners and residents to decorate their property with patriotic decorations. On the night before the parade, volunteers of all generations of Townies teamed together to “Paint the Town” – a tradition that has gone on for three years. Volunteers managed to hang 1,400 balloons on every street light pole along the Parade Route. It was amazing to see so many young people and older Townies come together and decorate to take pride in where they live. Charlestown was truly festive and patriotic – with the Zakim Bunker Hill Bridge lighting up red, white, & blue to the businesses and homes dressed in patriotic bunting and bows, to the poles adorning patriotic balloons – the spirit of the 17th of June was alive! This year’s Paint the Town campaign was sponsored by Charlestown Against Drugs, Wynn Resorts & Development, Diversified Automotive, New England Development, and Spaulding Rehab Hospital. Special thanks to State Representative, Dan Ryan, for assisting the Townie Association in our Paint the Town campaign endeavors.

On Sunday, June 15th the Townie Association managed to not only to build one float this year, but two! This year, the Townie Association built and decorated the annual “Paint the Town” float, which was festively decorated with patriotic decorations. We threw over 5,000 red, white, and blue Mardi Gras beads to parade spectators. Special thanks to Charlestown Youth Lacrosse and ProMusic Productions/DJ Smokey Cain for joining and collaborating with us this year. Along with our patriotic float, the Townie Association managed to build the popular “Frozen” float. Children enjoyed seeing Princess Ana, Queen Elsa, and Olaf the Snowman ride through the streets of Charlestown. Special thanks to the Mama Bear Effect for co-sponsoring the Frozen float. The Townie Association also sponsored the Mayor of Charlestown’s horse & carriage as well as Spider-Man, Batman, Spongebob and Mickey & Minnie and their 1960’s convertible!

On behalf of the Townie Association, special thanks to the 2014 Mayor of Charlestown committee and volunteers: Lisa McGoff Collins, Patty Kelley, Erica Walsh, Shannon Lundin, Smokey Cain, Melissa Doherty, Beth Canizzarro-Vigilante, Dennis Taylor, Elaine Donovan, Cara Shea, Kim Copithorn, Bridget Bohne, Shawna Dole, Patty Gould, Jason MacDonald, Mary Crilley, Bobbie Dole, & Alex Gandolfo.

Special thanks to all of our 2014 “Paint the Town” volunteers: Kevin & Martha Barry, Meaghan Burke, Teri Muscarella, Amanda Brooks, Craig Ryan Powers, Hannah Crilley, Karyn Cunningham, Shaelyn Devlin, Carly Cahill, Rose Sullivan, Susie Burke, Molly Cadger, Lauren Barry, Wendy Kelley, Mary Killorin, Emma Hudson, Kelliegh Harrington, Scott Moses, John Harrington, Noah Shiner, Kaelyn Gilbert, Alyssa Moses, William Kinney, Eireann McMaster, Lili Sgro, Shannon Lundin, Laniegh Lundin, Kerrin Houliahn & Cassady Sullivan.

BIG THANKS to our sponsors: Charlestown Against Drugs, Wynn Resorts, Spaulding Rehab Hospital, Diversified Automotive, & New England Development.

Thank you to our Paint the Town supporters: State Representative, Dan Ryan, and to Mishawum Park Tenants Association & Peabody Properties.

Thank you to MassDot for lighting the Zakim-Bunker Hill Bridge patriotic colors and joining our campaign.

Thank you to all the residents who decorated their property and to all the Charlestown businesses who decorated their property.

Thank you to all of our volunteers for Parade Day that helped us build the floats or joined the ride: Kelly Tucker, Smokey Cain, Mary Crilley, Cara Shea, Kim Copithorn, Sissy Kineavy, Michelle Mortimer, Emma Hamilton, Connor Boyle, Noelle Boyle, Ryan McGonagle, Annie McGonagle, Malachy Donovan, Jared Burhoe, Jason Smith, James Hollien, & Gil Eatherton.

Thank you to Action Towing of Revere and Quealy Towing of Everett for donating the flatbed trucks.

Special thanks to our “Frozen” float co-sponsor, The Mama Bear Effect.

Special thanks to Mark Hickey & Hickey Designs for donating all of the banners.

BIG THANKS to HOME DEPOT for sponsoring our floats and donating all the wooden materials.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.