Charlestown Appreciation Award Winners Announced; Dinner Scheduled for April 21

Showing her Quinn Memorial Scholarship Award proudly is Taylor Mahoney. Also shown with her from left to right are: Richard McCarthy, her father, Ronan Fitzpatrick, who has so much to do with the event from year to year, Mahoney and her Mom, Eleanor Mahoney.

The Charlestown Appreciation Awards Committee has announced the 2012 recipients:


BUSINESS: Olivia Browning, 20 Chelsea Street

PUBLIC SERVANT: Marybeth Kelly

NEW RESIDENT: Karen Sullivan

SENIOR: Eileen Locke

YOUTH: Billy Evers, Jr and Katie McGoff

ALUMNUS: Comedian Steve Sweeney

UNSUNG HERO: Jim “Jimbo” Tucker.

The purpose of the Awards’ Ceremony is to recognize those who have helped enrich the quality of life in Charlestown, but have done so in such a manner that their deeds have gone unheralded and, in the most cases, unknown to the general public.

The 21st Charlestown Appreciation Awards Ceremony will take place on Friday, April 27, 2012 at the new Knights of  Columbus Hall at 545 Medford St., Charlestown.  Cocktail hour begins at 6:30 pm with dinner to be served at 7:00 pm.  The Awards’ Ceremony will follow at 8:00 pm.  Tickets are on sale for $25 each.  To reserve you seats, contact Committee Ticket Chairperson Maureen McCabe Collier at 617-838-0725 or Committee Chairman Tom Cunha at 617-777-8011.  Deadline payment for reserved seats is April 13th.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.