Townie Sports

Charlestown is the Citywide Baseball League Champs

Last Wednesday, on a cool and foggy Southie evening at Moakley Field, the Charlestown Little Leaguers battled the All-Dorchester Sports League (ADSL) for the Citywide baseball title. Charlestown had posted a 1-2 record against ADSL during the regular season, so a close match was expected. ADSL (7-1) was the number one seed and Charlestown (6-2) was the number two seed, so the Townies were the visiting team. After the Townies left the bases loaded in the top of the first, ADSL took an early first inning 1-0 lead on a walk and several passed balls. Charlestown left the bases loaded again in the second inning, but finally got on the board in the top of the 3rd with a double to right field by Harry Jackson, scoring Steven Chiappa, and knotting the score at 1-1.

Steven Chiappa pitched lights out for the next three innings, after which he reached his pitching limit, so he was relieved by Sebastian Peralta Polanco in the 5th. The score would remain 1-1 through the regulation 6 innings, so play continued into extra innings.

In the top of the 8th, Joe Brienze knocked a base hit into left field, and smartly advanced to second base, which ADSL had failed to cover. Steven Chiappa was the next batter, and he smacked a base hit to score Brienze, giving Charlestown the 2-1 lead into the bottom of the 8th.

ADSL came out fighting in the 8th with an early hit. That runner attempted to steal second, but was thrown out by catcher Brienze – thanks to Augie Groh’s acrobatic tag on a high throw. The next batter hit a single; the third batter of the inning got a base hit to right field, where Justin Lynch fielded the ball and started a perfect relay through shortstop Groh to third baseman Brady Poole – who tagged out the forward runner at third for the second out. With two outs and a runner on second base, Sebastian ended the game with a strikeout to seal the victory.

The Townies held the large trophy high with pride on Moakley Field.

Congratulations to the team and coaches:

Coaches: Zeus Gambaro, Greg Poole, Steve Chiappa, Max Gomez

Players: Augie Groh, Brady Poole, Brian Allen, Brian Mullis, Caiden Collier, Colin Bradley, Cooke Ryan, Elliot Gomez, Harry Jackson, Hunter Kang, Joe Neilon, Justin Lynch, Max Gomez, Nathan Mainey, Sebastian Peralta Polanco, Steven Chiappa, Tommy Bresler.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.